Faculty of Accounting, Banking & Finance (FABF)

FABF is a successor of the then departments of Banking (the oldest department at the Institute) and Professional Accountancy. The Faculty was established in July, 2010 after the approval of a new IFM Organization Structure. Currently, FABF is the largest faculty at the Institute; it has three departments, Banking and Financial Services, Accountancy and Finance, and General Studies. There are 63 academic staff permanently based and a total of 5,408 registered students in eleven programmes, undergraduate and postgraduate. The Faculty offers undergraduate programmes leading to the awards of Certificate in Banking, Certificate in Accountancy, Diploma in Banking, Diploma in Accountancy, Bachelor degree in Banking and Finance, and Bachelor degree in Accountancy. It also offers postgraduate programmes namely; Postgraduate Diploma in Accountancy, Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Management,  Masters of Science in Accounting and Finance, Masters of Science in Finance and Investment and Masters of Science in Finance. The Faculty believes in and values the Institute’s motto and vision. Thus it strives to ensure that trustworthy and quality services are delivered to all stakeholders.

Dean of Faculty -  Dr. Ernest F. Mabonesho (Acting) 

Department Accounting and Finance

The department has a reputable history of producing experts who have been holding executive positions in public and private Accounting and Auditing firms. Our priority is to deliver the best teaching and learning exeperience that allow students achieve full potential.


Head of Department : Dr. Hamis Sinde (Acting)


Department of Banking and Financial Services

Since the banking industry is a critical part of our economy that provides a variety of career oportunities, the department fulfills the dreams of prospective students who desire to be part of the ever growing banking and financial world. We strive to offer students with best learning environment that exposes them into a dynamic financial business world, and prepare them to become experts in banking industry.

The department conducts three programmes, namely; the Basic Certificate in Banking and Finance (BCBF), Ordinary Diploma in Banking and Finance (ODBF) and the Bachelor of Banking and Finance (BBF). For the academic year 2012/2013 a total of 52 academic staff taught different modules to all 2,539 registered students.


Head of Department: Dr. Bupe J. Mwakyusa